Financial Aid and Scholarships

National Fellowships and Awards Committee

We formed the National Fellowships and Awards Committee in November 2013 to serve as the official clearinghouse for all student scholarship/fellowship opportunities and applications. The purpose of the National Fellowships and Awards Committee is to increase the number of Morehouse students who receive scholarships and fellowships from external colleges, universities, and other academic entities.

For those opportunities that require Morehouse College’s endorsement, this committee manages the nomination process and selects the nominees.

To be eligible for these merit awards, students must have a record of outstanding academic achievement (a cumulative GPA of at least 3.7), substantive leadership and, for most awards, sustained community service. Morehouse's endorsement will be given only to students who aim to distinguish themselves as leaders in their fields and as agents of humane social change.

Activities of the National Fellowships and Awards Committee

  • Keeping students informed about scholarship and fellowship opportunities.
  • Identifying as early as possible students whose talents and interests make them strong candidates for particular scholarships.
  • Encouraging students to apply for such scholarships.
  • Assisting with the mentoring of those students who do apply.
  • Helping students navigate all stages of the application process in a manner that results in the completion of applications at least one month prior to the given deadline.
  • Preparing invited students for interviews.

National Fellowships and Awards Committee Members

Garikai Campbell, Ph.D., Ex-Officio
Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

Melvin Rahming, Ph.D., Chair
Professor of English

Keisha Tassie, Ph.D., Secretary
Associate Professor of Communication

Julius Coles
Interim Director
Andrew Young Center for Global Leadership

Leah Creque, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
English Department
Director of the Honors Program

John Handy, Ph.D.
Chair of Economics Department

Frederick Knight, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Chair of History Department

Emmanuel Onifade, Ph.D.
Professor of Business Administration
Chair of Accounting

Mr. Hugh Williams
Diplomat in Residence
Spelman College

Linda Zatlin, Ph.D.
Professor of English