The Dr. Carol Espy-Wilson STEM Scholarship Initiative in honor of Dr. Roderic I. Pettigrew ‘72

Morehouse Trailblazers

In fact,  with over 37 percent of the student body majoring in STEM disciplines and exposed to enriched academic offerings, enhanced research opportunities and increased student-faculty interactions, Morehouse is destined to develop and train the next legion of the world’s scientific leaders. Alter all, producing pioneers is in the College’s DNA as evidenced by the myriad ol accomplished alumni who, over the decades, have excelled in their respective fields.

  • Dr. Samuel M. Nabrit '25, acclaimed marine biologist and the first African American to receive a Ph.D. from Brown University
  • Dr. Louis W. Sullivan '54, former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Dr. Donald R. Hopkins'62, MacArthur Fellow noted for eradicating smallpox in Sierra Leone and the Guinea worm
  • Dr. David Satcher '63, former U.S. Surgeon General
  • Dr. Roderic I. Pettigrew '72, is the first Director of the National Institute of Bio-medical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) at the NIH. In 2013, Dr. Pettigrew was also appointed to initiate a new NIH position as the Acting Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity, are among these gifted pioneers.
  • Dr. Walter E. Massey '58, 9th President, Morehouse College; former Director, National Science Foundation; former Dean, College at Brown University; former Provost, University of California System