Department of Philosophy & Religion

Faculty

Harold V. Bennett, Chair
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Religion

M.Div., Interdenominational Theological Center
M.A. in Philosophy, Georgia State University
M.A. in Religion, Vanderbilt University
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Areas of Expertise: Hebrew Bible studies; Afro(i)centric Biblical Criticism; Law and Morality in Ancient Israel; Religion and Ethics

Harold.Bennett@morehouse.edu

470-639-0230

   

Lawrence E. Carter
Professor of Religion and Dean of the Martin Luther King Jr. International Chapel

M.Div., S.T.M., Ph.D., Boston University

Areas of Expertise: Comparative Religions, Religion and Personality, Religion and Ethics, African American Religion

Lawrence.CarterSr@morehouse.edu

470-639-0376

Webpage: http://www.morehouse.edu/about/chapel/chapel_dean.html

   

Nathan Nobis
Associate Professor of Philosophy

Ph.D., University of Rochester; MA, Northern Illinois University  

Areas of Expertise: Ethical Theory; Practical Ethics; Critical Thinking; Philosophy of Religion; Epistemology; Science and Values

Nathan.Nobis@morehouse.edu

470-639-0612

Webpage: http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/nnobis/

   

Aaron L. Parker
Associate Professor of Religion

Ph.D., Emory

Areas of Expertise: Theology, African American Religion; Religion and Ethics

Aaron.Parker@morehouse.edu

470-639-0302

Webpage: http://www.morehouse.edu/facstaff/aparker/

   

Kipton E. Jensen
Associate Professor of Philosophy

PhD., Marquette University

Areas of Expertise: American pragmatism, philosophy of religion, metaphysics, especially 19th c. German thought, public health ethics, and applied philosophy.

Kipton.Jensen@morehouse.edu 

470-639-0426 

Webpage: http://www.morehouse.edu/academics/phil/kjensen.html

   
 

Esme Murdock
Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy

PhD., Michigan State University

Areas of Expertise: Social and Political Philosophy, Environmental Ethics, Environmental Justice, Feminist Social Theory

Esme.Murdock@morehouse.edu 

470-639-0238 

Webpage: https://morehouse.academia.edu/EsmeMurdock

 

Staff

Mrs. Towanda Esquilin
Departmental Administrator
Towanda.Esquilin@morehouse.edu 

470-639-0612